• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • md123

Ultimate Member
    Jul 29, 2011
    [EDIT- PHOTOS BELOW]

So I took my gen 4 17 to the range for second time and it shot flawlessly. 100 rounds on the odometer so far and no issues shooting.

When I went to clean it, I noticed that the slide seems to shift to right (out of alignment for sure) when I attempt to remove or add the slide during a field strip. With very little force, the slide will indeed go forward/backward but it just doesn't feel right. Every time i've done/seen a field strip, the slide shifts forward (off the gun) like butter.

I have very little experience with striker fired pistols so I don't want to force the thing and do more damage. It's as if the trigger bar is pushing the slide out of wack.

Any help/ideas would be GREATLY appreciated. If no one knows what's up, I'll run some video or take pictures.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

joppaj

Sheepdog
    Staff member
    Apr 11, 2008
    MD
    Please make sure to get pics of the takedown releases when you do.

Scottysan

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    May 19, 2008
    Maryland
    might be worth running by a gunsmith and have them function check it... but these guys are right about needing pics to see a problem... and they've got mad experience with Glocks

md123

Ultimate Member
    Jul 29, 2011
    Please make sure to get pics of the takedown releases when you do.

Will post pics later tonight.

Sorry for ignorance...where are takedown releases? I'm blanking on that.

Thanks guys.

StantonCree

Watch your beer
    Jan 23, 2011
    de5423d075e5eb56455585593250782c_zpsd565872c.jpg

joppaj

Sheepdog
    Staff member
    Apr 11, 2008
    MD