• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • vandrv

Oct 8, 2013
    Harford County
    I just got my Colt upper and took it out for a test spin yesterday, and had problems getting the first round to chamber. I'm not sure what is causing this. I don't know it is because the gun is new, or my technique, or possibly the magazine. When I charge it, and pull the trigger, it doesn't fire. I then pull the charging handle again and it ejects the first round but still won't fire. I had this happen several times. Any suggestions as to what might cause this? I'm new to the AR platform, so go easy on me.

Boom Boom

Hold my beer. Watch this.
    Jul 16, 2010
    Carroll
    Is it really a problem getting a round to chamber? Meaning the bolt won't close all the way? I assume you mean the round goes into battery and the bolt fully closes but the rifle won't fire. Assuming the safety lever is off, you might have a bad firing pin, BCG not assembled correctly, or the safety is not disengaging inside the lower receiver. Is your lower receiver known good?

silanehead

Sarcastic Member
    Oct 24, 2012
    Dundalk
    Sometimes a new upper just needs a little break in.
    Oil it, then work the charging handle 50 or so times then wipe clean and re- oil.
    You'll see the sliding surfaces on the bolt carrier begin to get shiny.

DaemonAssassin

Why should we Free BSD?
    Jun 14, 2012
    Political refugee in WV