• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ShOrebird

Feb 22, 2010
    Hey guys and gals.

We live on the Eastern Shore. My dad just turned 91! (We had a great dinner!)
    Anyway, He owns a Glock 21 (Gen 3) in his name that I have been keeping at my place for years.

I would like to transfer the ownership of the Glock to me (his son.)

I own another handgun (.357 purchased in MD) and I am an Army vet so I can pass the NIC, but I don't want to make him travel to a gun dealer or a police barracks. Well, I could if there is no other option, but I would rather not have to do that. I could photocopy his ID and can bring him papers to sign no problem.

What's the easiest way to transfer the ownership of the firearm in MD?

Darkemp

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 18, 2009
    Marylandistan
    Hey guys and gals.

We live on the Eastern Shore. My dad just turned 91! (We had a great dinner!)
    Anyway, He owns a Glock 21 (Gen 3) in his name that I have been keeping at my place for years.

I would like to transfer the ownership of the Glock to me (his son.)

I own another handgun (.357 purchased in MD) and I am an Army vet so I can pass the NIC, but I don't want to make him travel to a gun dealer or a police barracks. Well, I could if there is no other option, but I would rather not have to do that. I could photocopy his ID and can bring him papers to sign no problem.

What's the easiest way to transfer the ownership of the firearm in MD?

Have to visit either an FFL or MSP. No way around that. Will need to make sure you are HQL exempt if you don’t have one.

ShOrebird

Feb 22, 2010
    If you are retired or reserve you don't need an HQL.