Thought I'd say hi - 24, looking for first gun!

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jan 13, 2014
    Silver Spring, MD
    Hey all, thought I would stop by this section and introduce myself.

I'm a 24 year old guy living in Silver Spring, MD. I work part time as a marketing professional, and attend graduate school part time. I have absolutely no experience with firearms aside from the occasional rifle class at summer camp.

Well, I'm here and I'm looking to find the right gun for me. I've done a fair amount of research, and while I don't know most things, I think I have the generals of what I'm looking for figured out. But, I need help on both the process to get it and what it is I should be getting! That's where you guys are absolutely invited to weigh in and give me your thoughts.

1) .22 LR handgun - pistol or revolver is OK

2) Price range - $150-$400 (firearm only; application/fingerprint fees not included)
    3) Accepting of a fair amount of types of ammo (something that can accept lots of bargain/bulk ammo, but will still fire the good stuff well!)
    4) Use - Probably 99% range time. I really enjoy time alone to just kind of relax from a tough day or week, especially since I have been sick with a chronic, lifelong illness for the past few months and would love to be able to have a new hobby to spend my time on.

I'm looking at the MD requirements for purchasing and I'm very confused as to what order I do things in. HQL class first, then fingerprints? When do I apply? Should I go into a few stores first and choose a gun before I do anything? Help! :)