• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tylerdurdan

May 3, 2014
    Hi,

Just recently tried to purchase a hand gun and was denied due to an assault that happened over 11 years ago when I was still a juvenile. I had no idea that this was still on my record and thought that this was sealed after I turned 21. I'm now a 26 year old Veteran with 6 years Active Duty and an Honorable Discharge. During my time in the Army I've never had this issue come up.

When I spoke with MSP about this issue they told me that Maryland holds juvenile offenses against you until your 30 if they are classified as a disqualifying crime (in my case assault). Do I even have any options at this point? Will this follow me even if I move to another state? I'm planning on enrolling in a university in VA and I'll be living down there this coming fall. Any opinions are welcome. Thanks

[/FONT]

tylerdurdan

May 3, 2014
    I forgot to mention that during my conversation with MSP they said that nothing came back from the NICS background check but when they ran a state background on me my Juvenile record came up.

JettaRed

Ultimate Member
    Mar 13, 2013
    Middletown
    Get a lawyer!

Also, it sounds like a good news story. You get into a fight when you're 15. Go off to war for 6 years (you served, didn't you?), you are honorably discharged, and now you are denied purchasing a handgun to use for sport shooting.

Where's the "Thank you for service to your country" in that?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CharlieFoxtrot

Industry Partner
    Sep 30, 2007
    Foothills of Appalachia
    Yes there are some things you can try, but they are time consuming (ie expensive) and success is not guaranteed.