• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TammyH

Jan 15, 2018
    Hi! I got my first AR-15 (LWRC-DI) in February and have been shooting at 25 yards then moved up to 50 yards. Yesterday I had some good grouping at 50 yards (image attached) so I’m thinking that maybe it’s time to move again to 75 yards. Eventually I would like to shoot 100 yards. When I did a trial run at 75 yards, it was a little hard for me to focus on the target.

This target is what I have been using.

I am using Vortex Spitfire 1x.

I am still learning things when it comes to shooting an AR-15: targets, optics and so on.

Is there a better target for shooting at 75-100 yards? And should I be using an optics with magnification? Thoughts & recommendations are appreciated!

Thanks!

Attachments

• 1532C87F-8869-4E0F-AC19-453645E3C16B.jpg
      1532C87F-8869-4E0F-AC19-453645E3C16B.jpg
      99.2 KB · Views: 699
    • 3AB74736-16F8-458B-8882-D16EAE2C1D19.jpg
      3AB74736-16F8-458B-8882-D16EAE2C1D19.jpg
      87.6 KB · Views: 702

Dsnyder

MDS Supporter
    Jun 23, 2015
    Baltimore
    With my old man eyes , a 5 inch target , 1x optic, 50 yards would be more than max. Just my opinion.

engineerbrian

JMB fan club
    Sep 3, 2010
    Fredneck
    I actually like those targets, however I personally don't like shooting bullseyes at 100+ yards with a 1x red dot.

Lately I've become a huge fan of 1-4 or 1-6 optics since you can shoot them close in or several hundred yards out. My thought would be to look for something like this, but try before you buy if you can

danb

dont be a dumbass
    Feb 24, 2013
    google is your friend, I am not.
    Good shooting!