• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 06MegaCTD

Mar 16, 2009
    Hanover
    I buying tss's rem 700 he is selling. Don't know a whole lot about bolt guns, been a semi guy forever. Wondering whats the first few things i should try to upgrade to make it a better shooter for not a whole lot of money. And remember you are talking to a total newb when it comes to these guns. It comes with a scope and rings so those will stay until i can afford better glass.

What would be a good stock to upgrade too for not too much money.
    Are the triggers adjustable at all? I am reading as much as possible as i can right now but any help or suggestion would be great. Thanks guys

SCARCQB

Get Opp my rawn, Plick!
    Jun 25, 2008
    Undisclosed location
    I was going to buy that 700 from tss... But you beat me to it.
    anyways,
    Did some research on the SPS 700 varmint. It has the same barrel as the SPS tactical, BDL action and I think has the X-trigger, which is user adjustable using one screw. This should be a sub-MOA gun right out of the box. (It should group < "1@ 100 yards). It is a good foundation for any upgrades and should serve you well. The only upgrade the tactical has over the varmint model is the freefloated stock. Thats a difference of a .70" group vs. a 0.50" group. If you are shooting at < 300 yards... that is minimal. IMO

Reviews actually rate it better than the VTR rifles. Since the stock is not free-floated, the addition of a quality aftermarket stock, bedding should easily make that into a sub .5 MOA gun.