• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JTERP

Sep 26, 2009
    Hi all, my name is Josh. I am a graduate of UMD and a relatively new 2nd Lieutenant in the Marines.

I have about 6 months until I need to report to TBS in Quantico (next step in training for new officers like myself) and I thought I might take this time to get better acquainted with some of the weapons I will be tested on when I get there. I am looking at ARs and Beretta 92s, and I've got a few questions about purchasing and shooting them.

I've been to mdgunsafety.com and taken the online safety course. However, they seem to stress that this step is Only one of the requirements towards purchasing a firearm in Md. But I can't seem to find a list of the others. If anyone can provide a quick answer here, that would be much appreciated. Otherwise I'll try to find the answer elsewhere.

Also, is there a local shop that might have a decent selection of ARs in stock?

Thanks.

Josh

extski

Aug 6, 2009
    Pasadena
    However, they seem to stress that this step is Only one of the requirements towards purchasing a firearm in Md.

Hi, welcome, and thank you for your service.

I'm new to firearms and all I did was take the online safety course, printed out my certification (also mailed in the forms), and used the certificate I printed out on my home printer and was able to purchase a handgun. Nothing else was required (other than photo ID). The other requirements they are referring to I'm assuming are that you just don't have a criminal record, of sane mind, etc. and meet the background check, etc.

I'm sure someone will elaborate and correct me if I'm wrong, but just letting you know what happened in my case.

3rdRcn

RIP
    Industry Partner
    Sep 9, 2007
    Harford County