• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • trickg

Guns 'n Drums
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 22, 2008
    Glen Burnie
    I heard about this today, and I'm still trying to process it. He was an acquaintance and the drummer for the wedding band I've gigged with for the last 20 years - he came on board right around 2012. Along with being a trumpet player, I'm also a drummer, so we always had stuff to talk about when it came to drummers, gear, etc. He knew I was into guns, and I remember a couple of years ago when he went through the HQL process to get a pistol - we talked a bit about what he was looking to get and I steered him toward a Glock in 9mm. I never would have imagined he would do something like this. I look at pics of my own son when he was 3 years old and my heart breaks.

I'd heard from a mutual friend that he had been struggling and was having some issues, likely stemming from the fact that his entire livelihood had been pretty much wiped out by the COVID 19 lockdown. He made his living as a gigging musician and drum teacher, and all of that went belly-up with COVID 19, so I'm sure the financial stress contributed to marital stress and depression.

https://baltimore.cbslocal.com/2020/10/16/bel-air-murder-suicide-jason-dewitt-grayson-dewitt-latest/

If anyone out there is hurting, please reach out. I'm always going to wonder now about whether or not it would have helped if I had reached out and got him talking about drums and drumming.

Bikebreath

R.I.P.
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 30, 2009
    in the bowels of Baltimore
    Man, that sucks large. You can't blame yourself. It might have made him worse to talk about drums, or it might have helped. You can't know how anything would have changed him and it does you no good to dwell on it. You would have helped if you knew it was going this route, I'm sure. Take the blessing that you have your life going well.