• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • How did you start reloading?

• Self taught with printed materials (books, magazines)

Votes: 80 61.5%
    • Self taught with videos

Votes: 14 10.8%
    • Family member taught (father, uncle, mother, etc)

Votes: 14 10.8%
    • Mentor taught (other than family member)

Votes: 16 12.3%
    • Other (please post what method)

Votes: 6 4.6%

• Total voters

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    How did you get started?

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    Oh, I never said, I am self taught. Books and magazines in the pre-computer days.

SKIP

Ultimate Member
    Mar 5, 2009
    Glenwood/Glenelg
    I started with the Lee Loader for 223. I still have it.

Attachments

• Leeloader.jpg
      Leeloader.jpg
      71.9 KB · Views: 340

Uncle Duke

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 2, 2013
    Not Far Enough from the City
    I am self taught. There was a gun writer years ago named Dean Grennell, who at the time had a writing style that I enjoyed reading. When I saw his name on the second edition of The ABC's of Reloading on a table in a shop, I bought the book. Then a Speer manual and more books. I was hooked and I've enjoyed reloading ever since.

Bootknife

Ultimate Member
    I think Uncle Duke and I are Brothers from a Different Mother or Parallel Universes ! I also have a DG article or two around here someplace. Mine is about the Same Story. My Herter's Turret Press was Mounted on and Old Metal Type Writer Table that had Casters on it. I had the Scale, also a Herter's Oil Bath Dampen on a shelf above because it was so sensitive to Vibrations . Pay attention to Details and SAFETY RULES !

Uncle Duke