• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kb830

MDS Supporter
    Aug 30, 2020
    Clarksville, MD
    Holster Advice / Wisdom / Thoughts / Recommendations

Looking to buy a holster for a Glock 17 Gen 4 MOS, probably with open reflex optic.
    I'm new to shooting.
    I'm taking a class soon and it requires an OWB holster and a mag holder, though
    the instructor said he has them for the Glock 17 if I don't have them in time.
    I would like a holster that would work for steel challenges at AGC (maybe next year).

Seems like the other threads I've found have been about CCW and IWB.

Any thoughts/recommendations/wisdom as I consider my options?
    Probably kydex? What about a lining to protect the gun's finish?
    Anything I should/shouldn't consider/worry about.
    I'm assuming stay away from paddle type holsters and stick with belt?
    How important is adjustability?
    Do I just get something to start and then learn what I like/don't like?

I'm heading out to the Timonium show this weekend, maybe there will be something there.

I appreciate any advice. Thanks.

Last edited:
    I recommend this because you're new to shooting and won't have to "un-learn" your method of holster draw...
    I am a big fan of Safariland's ALS (Auto Locking System) holsters for OWB carry. It is an excellent retention holster and if you learn first with this system, you'll pick up on it quite quickly. The people who hate them are not used to pressing the lever upon drawing and it is hard to unlearn a draw method used for decades.
    There are lots of variants of ALS holsters, I'm focusing on the retention lever- which is the ALS itself.

davsco

Ultimate Member
    Oct 21, 2010
    Loudoun, VA
    i'd just take the instructor up and use one of his, AND check out everyone else's holsters at the class. great way to try before you buy.