• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Slackdaddy

My pronouns: Iva/Bigun
    Jan 1, 2019
    Another question, but this one is for my wife.
    (I dang near have my whole street armed in the last 3 months)

Pistol vault:
    She has been getting 1 on 1 lessons from a local instructor and is at the point of ready to store the pistol in an locked but "accessible" location.

I am a big fan of NOT storing a gun in a safe that is visible, (on a nightstand, in a closet, etc), But the gun is hidden in a piece of furniture, etc.

As a contractor I was going to pick up a "Pistol vault" and "build it in" something.
    https://www.pinterest.com/pin/546976317227851738/

Question is:
    What type of lock for 100% reliability and speed of access?
    Bio-metric?, electronic push button?, manual buttons?

Thanks,

platekiller

Ultimate Member
    Jun 7, 2011
    Martinsburg, WV
    I have a gun vault mini volt I picked up on a Black Friday deal 9 years ago (we were expecting our first). It’s been a good solution for quick storage but keeps it away from the kids. I just slid it under the corner of the bed and used a steel cable to lock it to the bed. Has worked well. Just added a stack on with amazon digital lock in the closet so I can have long gun on hand quick but locked.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

platekiller

Ultimate Member
    Jun 7, 2011
    Martinsburg, WV
    831ec85bf6020fcf4ee19549dbf66526.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tom855

Apr 11, 2013
    The push button simplex type are much more reliable than a biometric.

And you never have to worry about dead batteries. The simplex locks have their weaknesses as well, but electronics add a whole batch of concerns to a really critical item.

SkiPatrolDude

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Oct 24, 2017