• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CHBrooks

Feb 27, 2013
    I am new to MDShooters.com and first time handgun owner. I have a Ruger Mark III.

Enjoy shooting the gun, but mags are a pain to load. Holding down the spring
    button is a pin in the thumb. Is there a simpler way to do this?

Did a Google search, but no luck. May not have been asking for the right thing.

Thanks in advance for any help.

jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    Did you purchase the pistol new? It should have a little plastic piece that pushes the button down while loading the magazine. If it didn't come with one, call Ruger, they may send you one.

CHBrooks

Feb 27, 2013
    Ruger Magazine Loading Tools

Guys: Thanks for the few suggestions. In addition to those mentioned above, I did a little more research and found a few more options.

As a service to the group, I've summarized all the loading tools I've found below (along with some of my observations about each option):
    Happy shooting.

zombiehunter

Ultimate Member
    Jul 8, 2008
    Ultimate Cliploader /thread

It's the greatest thing ever for these guns. Dump in bullets, jiggle, stick a mag in, jiggle, shoot. Only problem is that it makes it REALLY easy to blow through a brick of ammo. Other issue, mine wore out after about 8k rounds (it developed little burrs inside the plastic feed area that caused the bullets to bind up. I shaved these down and it was good for another few K but then the ballbearing corroded. Not sure if that was my fault or the bearing). But for $25, I'm ok with that and have an extra that I take to the range...just for the guy who goes "wow! that's neat! where'd you get it?" I can sell him one lol.

ifindppl

Sep 13, 2012