• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ofofhy

Jan 27, 2013
    Balto City
    I have read quite a few others on here, and I narrowed down my selection to the following (no particular order):

R1 - blued finish

RIA GI model - fixed sights

Ruger SR1911 - top of price range

First off, I'm pretty much a noob (less than a year as gun owner). I have been shooting a 1911-22 for about 4 months now. I bought it as a trainer to get used to the size and feel of the 1911 platform. Although, I am sure the recoil of the .45 will take some getting used to. This would primarily be a range gun, so carry/HD are not really issues that I am considering.

I like the feel of the RIA, and I like the primitive nature of the GI model (the smooth grips actually appeal to me). It was honestly the best feeling of the three in my hand. The two things that concern me about the GI model: Cost of an eventual sight upgrade (GI's are fixed and tiny) and the logo on the slide (cosmetic, and I'll likely get over it). Price is the obvious advantage.

The R1 felt good, and had dovetailed sights that seem they would require less work/cost to upgrade if needed. About $200 more than the RIA.

I only saw the SR1911 Commander model where I was browsing, but I would say I'm in the market for the 5" model. A little more modern feel than the other two, sights are already adjustable style. So maybe less upgrade down the road.

Is there anything else I am missing between the three models? Anything I should watch out for when inspecting the gun I eventually purchase? This will be my "last" purchase, as the 1911 is really the only other gun that I have "wanted" to get. I have an M9 and a Ruger SR9c as well.

Thanks... and this is my 100th post!

Robert1955

Ultimate Member
    Dec 25, 2012
    Glen Burnie