• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • natsb

Ultimate Member
    Sep 18, 2013
    southern MD
    I travel a lot to other States. While browsing a gun store in Georgia I saw some good deals on 30 round AR mags. I wanted to buy some but... How would I get them home?

Is it okay to put an empty mag in carry-on luggage?

If I mail them to myself, am I violating the "receive" wording in the new law?

Is carrying a mag across the boarder the only legal way to get one?

Am I asking too many questions? :0)

WeaponsCollector

EXTREME GUN OWNER
    Mar 30, 2009
    Southern MD
    I'm no lawyer, but I don't see why you can't take them apart and mail the harmless parts to yourself. If you're really paranoid you could use two different boxes and put the springs in one box and the other parts in another.

Alan3413

Ultimate Member
    Mar 4, 2013
    So you can't mail your personal property back to yourself? Is there a reg that prohibits mailing mags?

Just trying to get some clarity.

BTW, TSA regs say no mags in carry on. Checked is okay but needs to be in a "secure container".

natsb

Ultimate Member
    Sep 18, 2013
    southern MD
    So you can't mail your personal property back to yourself? Is there a reg that prohibits mailing mags?

Just trying to get some clarity.

That is what I am trying to understand. I would not be buying it from someone, just sending my stuff to myself. But still... the law says one cannot "receive" a mag. Therefore, the technicality is if getting your own mag in the mail qualifies as receiving it. This gets so confusing. Feels more like a lawyers employment act than a law.

JettaRed

Ultimate Member
    Mar 13, 2013
    Middletown
    If 'receive' is defined as transfer of ownership, you aren't receiving them in Maryland if you already own them, are you?