• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Madcap

Everybody Loves Mad!
    Nov 5, 2013
    Hello Fellow Shooters!

For quite some time, I've been entertaining the idea of hunting for a 1903A3 rifle as my first 'long gun'. I own other guns and shot plenty rifles, but currently do not own a rifle of any kind. It has been a childhood dream of mine and I love the look of the wood. Now I've got funds to play around with.

I"ve been hunting online for various information regarding them, but the price ranges and etc. are a little perplexing. My intention for this is to mainly be a range and nostalgia piece. I'm seeing individual prices range from $600+ to $2,000+ for the various types of 1903s, and I am seeing the A3s for generally around $900. Would this be a realistic price point?

More specifically, would this be a realistic price point in the MD area? I'll try and buy from a private individual, followed by local stores, before I go looking on various sites. Gotta keep it in the MD family; if all goes well here I'll throw a post up on WTB shortly.

Serial Numbers and Manufacturers? I'm a little in the dark as to how these play into the various rifles. I would assume that lower serial numbers are more valued by collectors, but I am not looking for a collection piece never to be fired. If anyone has information regarding this I'd greatly appreciate hearing it. Should I avoid any particular manufacturer or serial number range if I intend to fire the rifle on a not-so-semi-regular basis? (once or twice per year;It's MD, I have to travel a ways for rifle ranges).

After I've found a rifle, are there any things to disqualify it as a good rifle? Anything that I should be aware of in advance that would dissuade any of you from make a purchase after seeing one in person? How should I inspect a rifle such as this?