• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gunismyfriend

Apr 24, 2017
    Hi, guys,
    I'm new to guns, especially AR15. I've been reading a lot here and other sites, as I want to get an AR15 for under 1k. It seems to me Colt 6721 was the clear choice a year ago. Has that changed?
    Since we Marylanders don't have a lot of choices due to hbar, I'd like to ask those experienced hands, what would you buy for the 1st AR15 knowing what you know now? Colt has the new Expanse for $200 less than 6721. Any other possibilities?
    Much appreciated.

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    Some places have had Wyndham HBAR carbines under $700 this year. Vheck with JLowes Guns, he's a sponsor here.

gunismyfriend

Apr 24, 2017
    Thanks a million to everyone.
    Is it possible to list the pro and con of each of the choices? Or are they all similar enough that there is no need to do that? I know the twist in Colt 6721 is 1:9, and CE2000 is 1:7, Ruger 8511 is 1:8.
    Colt Expanse CE2000 seems OEM except lower, but still bears the name Colt, and costs 650 total, so I probably end up with that.
    I'm probably beating a dead horse now. Haha.
    DaemonAssassin, thanks, I may take up your help later, but now I just want something that pops when needed.
    I find JLowes Guns' price very competitive, will definitely keep that in mind.

bkuether

Judge not this race .....
    Jan 18, 2012
    Marriottsville, MD
    Is it possible to list the pro and con of each of the choices? Or are they all similar enough that there is no need to do that? I know the twist in Colt 6721 is 1:9, and CE2000 is 1:7, Ruger 8511 is 1:8.
    Colt Expanse CE2000 seems OEM except lower, but still bears the name Colt, and costs 650 total, so I probably end up with that.