• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CooperDog

Oct 14, 2018
    Glen Burnie
    Hello all,

Put simply, I am a SC resident currently in MD on military orders. If buying a handgun in PA then bringing that handgun to MD, are there any tasks I need to complete? Would I still require an HQL since I am not a resident of MD but simply here on orders? Would there be a 7day hold period or would I need to register the handgun? Thank you for reading, I'm trying to do this the right way.

Thank you.

*The handgun in question is MD compliant

Rab1515

Ultimate Member
    Patriot Picket
    Apr 29, 2014
    Calvert
    You must register it within 30? days. someone will be along to confirm that. you would have to be buying the handgun while still a PA resident, as you cannot purchase across state lines. There would be no need for a HQL.

Hawkeye

The Leatherstocking
    Jan 29, 2009
    Forgive me if I get anything wrong here, because being on orders makes you a special case as far as residency goes.

However: it is my understanding that for this purpose you can be a resident of BOTH MD and SC. Since you are NOT a resident of PA, you can't buy a handgun in PA. Well, you can, but it has to be transferred to you by an FFL in one of your states of residence. So you would buy the handgun in PA and it would then be transferred to an FFL in one of your states of residence, and you have that FFL transfer it to you.

If you do it as a resident of MD, you are exempt from the HQL requirement because you are active duty. However you will still have to do the online Form 77R, have the 7 day wait, and the handgun will be registered to you in MD.

Or, you could have the handgun sent to an FFL in SC and go down there and do the transfer that way.