• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Carlos Marin

Jun 3, 2020
    Baltimore City
    Hello everyone! Hope someone here can help me out: I've been wanting to buy an AR for quite a while. I'm still learning about the laws in Md. I live in Baltimore City and everywhere I look is gets more and more confusing. Recently started looking for info. on what are the requirements for an AR rifle. I was checking the Black Anchor website and learned that they have an "Md Compliant" section which I thought would help me to understand better but found myself in square one efter a friend (who bought a shotgun at some ***** gun shop) told me that the shop in ((here in Baltimore) told him he need a license for a long gun (AR-15). Then somebody else told me all I need is the 30 mins. background check. I don't want to throw the shop nor my friend under the bus so, can someone help this future AR buyer before going out and look like a stupid? Any info. will be appreciated.

slsc98

Ultimate Member
    May 24, 2012
    Escaped MD-stan to WNC Smokies
    You’ve come to the the right place as many experts on MD law are members here; I am NOT one but, will attempt to lay out some basic info for you while we are waiting for the experts to wake up.

Semi-auto Rifles of the AR-15 variant are “regulated” firearms in MD; handguns also are regulated. The HQL or Handgun Qualification License may be what your friend was referring to the gun shop advising them on .... Here: http://www.blackanchorarmory.com/maryland-hql-infromation.html

HQL requires completing a training mandate, submitting an application, paying a fee and waiting for approval of your application and eventual receipt of HQL. Only then are you ready to “go shopping.”