• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • newhunter

Oct 4, 2021
    Hi folks,

Introducing myself as a new 'hunter' here, recently got Hunter Safety, licence and shotgun.

I say 'hunter' as I may have the paperwork but I have zero experience and it is hard to come by. I signed up to the mentored hunts and am hopeful to be accepted.

In the meantime I thought to start with small game like rabbits and see what I can learn. To prepare I spent today hiking unmarked forest trails in the southern hunting area of Patuxent River State Park. I didn't see much life except for a lot of birds, but it was good to be outdoors.

I thought to go back to the State Park when rabbits are in season but this time hang around the edges of crop fields, where I figure rabbits may be more likely to hang out. Is this a good technique?

Several crop fields are, I think, within the boundaries of PR State Park, some to the west of Howard Chapel Road and west of Jennings Chapel Rd. I am pretty sure they are within the Park, but I am confused why people can farm State Park land and what that means for hunting. Am I okay to hunt in these? Are there any special rules about hunting in crop fields?

I moved here from a city in case that isn't obvious.

Looking forward to my first hunt. Thanks everyone and I appreciate any advice you care to share.

camo556

Ultimate Member
    Aug 29, 2021
    I have hiked there. Mostly squirrels but i did see one deer.

idk what the deal is with farming in state park lands but many of them have specific warnings "no hunting in fields until crops are harvested." By now I think that they are all harvested.

DNR posts all the rules & maps online - what weapons, seasons, etc and any park specific rules.