• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • foxtrapper

Ultimate Member
    Sep 11, 2007
    Havre de Grace
    Since the coyote thread turned into a trapping thread, I thought since there is interest, that there should be a seperate thread just about trapping.

To start, here is the list of furbearers you can trap in MD:
    -red fox
    -grey fox
    -raccoon
    -possum
    -striped skunk
    -coyote
    -fisher (2 per season, must be tagged)
    -muskrat
    -mink
    -beaver
    -nutria
    -river otter (up to 10 per season, must be tagged)
    -weasel

I've caught all but nutria, fisher, weasel, and coyote. I also used to nuisance trap, so I know how to trap groundhogs. I have extensive knowledge on trapping red fox, raccoon, mink, creek and pond living muskrats, beaver, and otter.

The pics: 1st is 2 foxes caught in the same set. The hay set uses 2 traps, and these 2 jan lovers both hit the set at the same time. 2nd and 3rd are the same otter, 2nd pic shows what I saw on approach and shows the set location and type, 3rd is the otter after I pulled it from the water. 4th is a raccoon caught in a blind set along a culvert/bridge abuttment. 5th is a mink caught in a blind set 110 set under a root overhang along a stream edge. 6th is 5 catches out of 9 traps I had set the day before along a small section of the same creek. 7th is an early nov fox double using hay sets.

Attachments

• closedbl.jpg
      closedbl.jpg
      65.5 KB · Views: 1,270
    • ottermarch13.jpg
      ottermarch13.jpg
      69.3 KB · Views: 1,135
    • ottermarch13b.jpg
      ottermarch13b.jpg
      46.5 KB · Views: 1,192
    • cooninminksetensor.jpg
      cooninminksetensor.jpg
      105.1 KB · Views: 1,124
    • minkjan22.jpg
      minkjan22.jpg
      74.5 KB · Views: 1,078
    • bestdaywaterM08.jpg
      bestdaywaterM08.jpg
      60.5 KB · Views: 1,004
    • haysetdblnov52.jpg