• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Laddertowr

trigger puller
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 3, 2013
    I’m no expert…

Setting up a Shooting Range, Targets and your Backstop / Berm

After reading and viewing the post submitted by member BALBZ on May 3rd … It got me thinking about the time spent on planning and materials needed to setup the range … First off consider the location your range will setup at…any restrictions up discharging a firearm in the area?... what the distance needed from the range to the nearest dwelling? … Is a special permit needed for the range? … Do you need insurance for the range? … This is a few things to think about and research before moving forward.

Now that you’ve picked out the location of range … Consider what you’ve use a backstop / berm … will it be dirt, wood, combination of old tires and dirt, or do you a natural backstop / berm already in place? Such as a hill or mountain … Consider leaving the front open for now so you can truck-in and materials needed to build your backstop / berm … Is might saving you time and a few cuss words …

Target stands…
    you want stands that are fixed in place or will you use portables stands? …
    4x4’s PT make for great outer post and running a 2x4 between them makes a decent place to hang targets from … So what if what you add more targets or just get tired of the set-up … Do you know where your shovel is? … Portable stands … might be made of wood, steel or pipe … allows you to change to look of your range in minutes …

Targets …
    1/4”, 3/8”, 1/2” etc, etc thick in AR400 and AR500 steel … what do you need? … Plenty of charts out there to help you choose the right thickest … I’ve used scrap metal on my range but only use it on the smaller caliber target stands for 22 or 17 …

Target Hangers and Straps …