• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • OLM-Medic

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 5, 2010
    Not moving anytime soon, but I'm brainstorming ideas.

Where are some areas in South PA that are somewhat rural? I want a house that has a good amount of land and just not around people in general. The last thing I want is a populated neighborhood. Any ideas?

MDMOUNTAINEER

Glock, AR, Savage Junkie
    Mar 4, 2009
    West Virginia
    I had 5 acres in Dover (northwest of York), 3200 sq ft house, 3 car garage, decently rural and I only paid 180k in 2003 (but 15 miles away from York proper). School taxes SUCKED!!!!!!!

Curmudgeon

I H8 stinkbugz
    Sep 6, 2010
    York, Pennsylvania
    I wasn't born and raised here (in fact we moved here from White Marsh in 2005) so I am still learning my way around the state... it's a big state!

From my Baltimore County perspective on what would constitute 'rural', look at most anything in the southern end of Lancaster County or anything a mile or 2 outside of the larger towns in Adams County.

As for York there is still plenty of rural land still available, like the areas between Shrewsbury and York, especially as you go farther from I-83. Also, as tss1004 has said, there is much in the way of rural land to the northwest and northeast of York. You would also want to avoid the area straight north of York.

By example, we bought a house built in '42 that is about 3 miles straight east of York city. It's a little rural, but still a neighborhood of sorts, and probably not what you're looking for. However, I only need to go another 1/2 mile east and it becomes very scattered and rural all the way to the Susquehana.