• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sbmike

Ultimate Member
    Feb 19, 2011
    Almost Heaven, WV
    Not being one who "builds" ARs, I am not familiar with what parts of an AR are legal to sell and which ones are not. My question is about swapping barrels between two store-bought ARs (pre 10/1/13) so I can try to sell one of them legally. I AM NOT trying to circumvent any Maryland laws.

I have a Bushmaster HBar that is only illegal because it has the evil name "Bushmaster" on it. Can I take that HBar barrel and swap it with a standard barrel off of another AR I own that does not have that evil name on it, then legally sell the HBar AR in Maryland?

Does anyone have any first hand experience with something like this?

Thanks.

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    Not being one who "builds" ARs, I am not familiar with what parts of an AR are legal to sell and which ones are not. My question is about swapping barrels between two store-bought ARs (pre 10/1/13) so I can try to sell one of them legally. I AM NOT trying to circumvent any Maryland laws.

I have a Bushmaster HBar that is only illegal because it has the evil name "Bushmaster" on it. Can I take that HBar barrel and swap it with a standard barrel off of another AR I own that does not have that evil name on it, then legally sell the HBar AR in Maryland?

Does anyone have any first hand experience with something like this?

Thanks.

You have a lot of questions here and I'm no expert. Taking the bbl. off the B.Master, the lower is still marked Bush master, right? And you want to sell it with a different barrel?
    The other pre-10/13 gun I think you can put any bbl. on it you want as long as it's 16'' or over.