• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CharlieC

Aug 15, 2020
    Hey guys(gals). Newbie here with a newbie question. My wife and I have been target shooting at the range here at home in Frederick. I was invited to shoot with a friend in PA. Can I take my pistol (unloaded) across state line into PA for a couple days? He has a range on his farm with steel targets. Thanks!
    Charlie

Harrys

Short Round
    Jul 12, 2014
    SOMD

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    In general , yes you can . But be aware Pa handgun laws while there . ( A topic in itself .)

Slackdaddy

My pronouns: Iva/Bigun
    Jan 1, 2019
    If he had googled it,, I would have never seen this thread (that would not exist) and may have never thought about the ramifications of crossing a state line with a firearm.

Or maybe he just needs a boost in his post count ??

Good to see someone else who uses the internet first. Too bad more folks don't .

Foohaus

Nov 22, 2020
    As far as MD goes, you can transport an unloaded handgun in your car if you’re doing so “in connection with an organized military activity, a target shoot, formal or informal target practice, sport shooting event, hunting...”

— MD Crim Law § 4-203

press1280

Ultimate Member
    Jun 11, 2010
    WV
    As long as you don't cross into DC, NJ, or NY you should be OK.

Assuming those states were on the OP's way to PA then yes, you can transport through provided pistols/mags/ammo were in the trunk per the FOPA, with necessary stops only (gas/restroom although it's still somewhat vague).

boothdoc

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 23, 2008
    Frederick county