• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sig Fan

Feb 15, 2011
    PRMD
    I'm headed up to Lancaster to most likely, buy a used car on Saturday. The main question I have is about sales tax.

So in MD, as well as in PA, if you trade in a car to the same dealer you purchase a car from, you only pay sales tax on the difference, which could be a nice discount. Example - buying a 20K car with a 12K trade, you only pay tax on 8K, not the full 20K. That would save $720 on that example.

OK, so when I buy a car in PA as an MD resident, what sales tax am I paying? From what I can find on the interwebs, the PA dealer would most likely not charge me any tax because I am an out of state resident, and then I would pay the 6% when titling in MD the car based on the bill of sale. SO, does that mean I'm getting screwed $720 because they will tax me on the 20K, not the 8K? Should I not trade the car in to a PA dealership?

Tomcat

Formerly Known As HITWTOM
    May 7, 2012
    St.Mary's County
    IIRC there's something in the Maryland law that deals with Blue Book value or something to that effect. In other words you can't say you only paid $500 for a $20,000 car. Same thing here, you're probably going to get stuck with the tax on the true value.

mdram

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Nov 2, 2011
    Eastern Shore of Maryland
    A notarized MVA Bill of Sale is needed if the sale price is less than the vehicle’s book value and the vehicle is 7 years old or newer. Please call the MVA’s Customer Service Center at 1-410-768-7000 to verify the vehicle’s book value.
    If a notarized “Bill of Sale” is not presented and the purchase price of the vehicle is within $500 of the retail value as shown in the National Publication of Used Car Values, MVA will accept the purchase price as completed on the title.