• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GSuders

Dec 13, 2017
    Keymar
    Since the 1st year of straight wall cartridge deer season is over, for those of you that had real world experience with either the 350 Legend or 450 Bushmaster or maybe another straight wall caliber. What are your thoughts on how it preformed? What caliber did you use, shot distance and bullet type?

Harrys

Short Round
    Jul 12, 2014
    SOMD
    Since the 1st year of straight wall cartridge deer season is over, for those of you that had real world experience with either the 350 Legend or 450 Bushmaster or maybe another straight wall caliber. What are your thoughts on how it preformed? What caliber did you use, shot distance and bullet type?

I have been shooting a 45/70 for many, many years. I have taken down Moose, Bear, mule deer and white tails. Longest open site shot as I do not use scopes, was about 200 to 250 yards.

When hunting white tail I use a 350 grain bullet drop depending on load and for a 100 yards is about .75 to 1.5 inches. Some of my buds with scopes have shot 600 yards. The 45/70 also can be shot out of a pistol up to 500 grains too.

The 45/70 rounds are more ready available that the 350 Legend and the 450 Bushmaster which are both good rounds for hunting. It is like choosing a car all personal preference.

Take a look at each rounds ballistics and make the decision based on your needs.