• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mmpbal

Apr 18, 2020
    Dundalk
    Hello all, I was in West Virginia this past weekend, I am a Maryland resident, my question is while there could I carry my handgun without any type of permit?

Norton

NRA Endowment Member, Rifleman
    Staff member
    Admin
    May 22, 2005
    Constitutional carry, though I carry on my Virginia non-resident permit as a matter of practice.

Occam

Not Even ONE Indictment
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 24, 2018
    Montgomery County
    I'll confess I'm a little confused as to why a state that allows constitutional concealed carry ... would have an in depth discussion about which concealed carry permits they honor or don't from other states.

Likewise, WV provides a $25 trip to the Sheriff's office in order to procure a WV concealed carry license. I presume that's so that WV residents have something they can present in other reciprocally friendly states that require a permit (Maryland ain't one of them!).

jef955

MDS Supporter
    Feb 26, 2011
    Maryland
    Frequent flyer here.. In New Creek yesterday as a matter of fact.. No permit required, Wv permits are issued for out of state reciprocity, but not required for in state concealed carry, other than a few restricted places which can be found with a quick online search. Full guidelines are on the Wv Attorney General's website, and the State police as well.

Happy carrying

photoracer

Competition Shooter
    Oct 22, 2010
    West Virginia