• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MemoryOne85

Oct 14, 2013
    Rockville,MD
    Hi Everyone.
    Went to PG Skeet a few times and I loved it. Thought I'd perhaps get myself an O/U to bring to that location. Also can be my first hunting shotgun, whenever it is I get around to getting my hunting License.

I'm just starting out and not a whole lot of funds to drop on a Berreta or Browning. Does anyone have any long term experience with Tristar or Hatfield O/U shotguns?

Otherwise I would skip O/U altogether and get a Mossberg 500.

Thanks!

Aamdskeetshooter

Ultimate Member
    Dec 19, 2013
    Moco
    Not personally, but you don’t want to waste your money. I would recommend looking for a used Remington 1100/11-87 or a used Beretta auto.

Ammo Jon

Ultimate Member
    Mar 3, 2008
    I was in the same boat recently. I was considering a Maverick O/U which was going to be around $400. I then realized I could spend $100 on a brand new barrel and turn my 18.5" Maverick 88 into a skeet/clay with a 28" barrel.

teratos

My hair is amazing
    MDS Supporter
    Patriot Picket
    Jan 22, 2009
    Bel Air
    Look for a used Beretta or Browning. Whichever you prefer. They last forever and you can usually fond a pretty good deal...

Yep. Many budget guns are OK as field guns. They can’t take the many thousands of rounds a good trap or skeet gun can.

Doco Overboard

Ultimate Member
    So the other day I was browsing a gun rack that was lined up with shotguns. I seen some blue Stoeger stickers on a few O/U Barrels and decided to check one out. I picked up a trim 20 gauge studying the receiver and then broke it open to have a look inside.