• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • c&rdaze

Oct 2, 2007
    Southern MD
    I am fairly new to reloading. In slowly upgrading some equipment I was given, I recently added a chronograph. I really got to check some .38spl that i thought might be hot, reloaded from the Lyman book. An it indeed comes in at just under +p velocities.

That aside, I have some reloaded .300 Blkout subsonic that was loaded to spec from internet sources (clearly not the best info but .300 Blk info is hard to come by). Anyway, chrono says 800-900 fps with different bullet types. Way under what I want, so do I pull the load and start over or just use the 50 rds I have and work up something better? It is quiet and cycles fine but does it really have any punch?

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    Assuming a 220gr pill is being used, at 900fps you'd be looking at roughly 396ft/lbs of energy.

That punch is equivalent to a good defensive handgun loading.

DutchV

Ultimate Member
    Jul 8, 2012
    There's plenty of good info over at 300Blktlk.com. Most guys are trying to get their subsonics to run around 1050 fps.

Beware of Dog
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 16, 2013
    AA Co
    If the loads cycle fine, then just go ahead and shoot em... but I'd opt for a little over 1000fps to be most effective and still remain subsonic. With a chrono you can measure a couple handfuls of rounds, see what the deviation is and load accordingly to keep the higher velocity rounds under 1100fps. I usually shoot for around 1050 average, as it allows a little leeway to still remain subsonic. I may load a little higher or lower, depending on accuracy performance of a given load, but rarely over 1100, as it's starting to knock on the supersonic side..

DutchV

Ultimate Member
    Jul 8, 2012