• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RoccoRP87

Mar 22, 2013
    Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to MDshooters but I've been shooting ever since Army ROTC at age 17. I've come to really respect the AK platform and have recently purchased a K-Var SGL-21.

I am looking to mount a red dot for quick acquisition and low light shooting.
    I am planning to mount via the side mount, possibly on a UTG double rail mount or an RS mount. The thing is, I don't have the cash lying around for any kind of high speed EO Tech or Trijicon.

My question to experienced AK shooters is what is the best red dot for a compromise between quality and affordability? Any suggestions on alternatives to the UTG side mount or RS mount?

Lastly, I do not want to mount on forward of the rear sight. I previously had a Midwest Industries rail system installed and removed it due to the unbalanced weight it added to the front end of the weapon. I also want to use the side mount in case the optics become inoperable and I can return to irons without much trouble.

My apologies in advance if this isn't the right place to post this question or if it has been asked before, like I said, I am new here. Thanks in advance for the advice!

Dogabutila

Ultimate Member
    Dec 21, 2010
    Well for starters you're very vague. You want the best optics you can get, but you don't want to spend a decent amount of money? How much are you trying to spend? Without letting us know what your budget is it's pretty much impossible to give you valid help.

So without knowing how much money you're willing to spend, my advice is to figure out what optics you actually want, and shoot with irons until you can save to get a set of decent optics.

RoccoRP87

Mar 22, 2013