• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ChrisD

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 19, 2013
    Conowingo
    Anyone using this line on a hunting rifle? I recently acquired one new in box on a trade 4.5-14X42 AO. Was thinking of putting it on a 300 WinMag I have. I seem to recall that Burris used to be considered a quality scope, but that was just via conversations over the years. I’ve never had any Burris scopes so I have no firsthand knowledge. Reviews online seem mixed on this line. Wondering if it will withstand the recoil. It looks like I’d need a weaver rail to mount it for eye relief due to the length of the tube.

It does have a “forever” warranty, but that’s of little consequence if it fails when I’m taking aim at the “buck or bull of a lifetime”:D

GSuders

Dec 13, 2017
    Keymar
    Last year I wanted to replaced the Trekker 4-16 scope on my .223 since it was cheap and it was all I could afford at the time. After some research I ended up buying a 4.5-14 Burris Droptine as the reviews seemed decent and Burris has a pretty good reputation. After mounting the scope and shooting 20 times I could not get the gun shot in for the life of me. With the Trekker scope I was getting 1" groups or so at 100 yards, but with the Burris I was getting 3-4-5" groups. I ended up sending the scope back and got a Vortex Diamondback 4-12 scope. With the Vortex I'm back to my 1" groups. I think I was just unlucky and got a bad scope out of the box, but I wasn't willing to try a 2nd one, esp with as hard as ammo is to find.

sxs

MDS Supporter
    Nov 20, 2009
    Anne Arundel County, MD