• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bigstorm87

Jan 22, 2013
    Good morning everyone,

I am new to this site! While looking for some info on different laws and advice, this site popped up A LOT. So I joined, and I'm glad I did. I LOVE what I have seen on this forum. Everyone is very nice and helpful to one another.

Anyway, I would like some advice here! I know gun shows will probably be complete mad houses, but I am in the market for TWO (hopefully used firearms). Here is my reasoning, I am a Maryland resident, but I don't have A LOT on cash to spend. In light of the new laws that O'Malley is trying to pass with the possible required classes, permits, weapon bans, and fingerprinting, I would like to get the things I would like should MD make them law. I would rather have the things I want and not have ANYTHING pass, than have the laws pass thus making life more difficult. Catch my drift? I'm positive thousands of other Marylanders are doing the same, but oddly enough, most people I talk to have no idea that O'Malley is trying to pass legislation. Anyway...

First is nothing new to me...A typical Rem 870 used (or Moss 500 if the price is right). I figured the best place to one or the other is probably Nations, if not, then maybe Silverado in Upper Marlboro.

Second I AM new to, which is a Springfield XDm in 45ACP. I am planning to look for one at Silverado. I have shot handguns plenty of times, but have never purchased one of my own.

Here is where I need help...Should I even bother going to Nations to look for a used 870?

IF I were to go to Nations and IF I were to buy a shotty in VA, I need to know if purchasing a long gun in VA would effect my chances of being able to purchase a hand gun in MD.