Can I sell this handgun in Virginia and don't violate Maryland gun law?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    As a point of law, ( I am not a Lawyer) as I understand it there is no reason a Maryland FFL would not be able to ship magazines over 10 rounds out of the state if they sold the gun outside Maryland. I know many Maryland based FFL's and was one for several years. If anyone disagrees please post a link showing just one prosecution and conviction for doing so.

Yup , no reason a Md Based FFL couldn't sell a gun with 10+ rd mag(s) to out of state , if legal in destination jurisdiction .

But that's not the typical controversy .

Scenario : Md FFL has gun & normal mag(s) for sale in shop . Maryland buy purchases gun for full price with no magazine(s) , and FFL then ships " Free Magazine(s) " out of state address , that happens to be a friend or relative of Maryland buyer .

Legal or Not ? It was debated here for years , and maybe/ maybe not . FSA 13 is ambiguous on this and , and no case law . FWIW . MSP advises No Bueno , but we know their track record .

Slackdaddy

My pronouns: Iva/Bigun
    Jan 1, 2019
    How many times are we going to rehash this question? Transfer to an out of state buyer is entirely legal if permitted in the buyers state. And also write, 100 times, “must go thru FFL” so you don’t forget!
    Until we make the MGA thoroughly aware a current mag laws and give them a firm blue print of how to completely ban all mags over 2 rounds.