• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bemmster

Jan 25, 2024
    Harford County, MD
    Hey all. Newbie here and just getting into guns and shooting so I'm sure I'll be posting tons of questions. I'm in IT so I build extremely high end custom computers, got into fishing several years ago, and have done archery off and on most of my life. My dad was big time into archery, had several sponsorships, won several state competitions, etc. and picked up lots from him. Have been wanting to get into guns and shooting for a long time now and for the past few months I decided to really start doing some serious research in order to jump in.

That being said, I've only gone shooting twice. I've shot two different 9mm hand guns (Shadow Systems MR920 and Walther PDP), an LWRC IC-A5 16", and a Benelli M4.

For my first purchase I was looking at getting an AR15. Limited options in MD so I was wondering what everyone would recommend? One major factor for me with getting into shooting other than it's fun as hell is having good options for home defense and just incase there is ever a SHTF scenario. I also want to get everything now before everything becomes more restricted even though I'm already late to the game on that.

I loved the LWRC IC-A5, generally when I get into different things I do serious research and I go for more high end stuff. If I'm going to jump into something I like to do it right - so I don't mind spending some cash to get something quality. Before anyone makes the post, I'm not spending everything I have on the gun - I'm also planning on doing LOTS of training :). I'll make a separate post for recommendations on that.

Here is what I was currently considering getting - let me know if you have other suggestions (or if I should post this somewhere else):