• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • buellsfurn

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2015
    southern end of Maryland
    MDS'ers could anyone recommend any books for Garand building ? I'm thinking of putting one together with parts. Theirs a number of books out their looking for a head start with books recommended. How much where their be a need for a gunsmith assuming their will be some specialty tools needed. I have a shop I take apart and clean my own weapons I consider myself to be Mechanically inclined Carpenter and cabinet builder/refinisher by trade

Orlando

Are you installing a new barrel or just assembling a rifle on a barreled receiver?
    If you are assembling a rifle on a barreled reciever no book is needed.
    I suppose you are aware its tools for reaming and the receiver wrench, barrel vice, levels, headspace gauges are going to cost you hundreds of $$$
    If you are wanting to build a rifle to save $$$ it wont happen .
    If you need any prts for your build I have parts I am selling, many are unissued. If you have any questions on anything PM me and I will help if I can
    http://www.fulton-armory.com/them1garandcompleteassemblyguidebuildyourowngarand.aspx

buellsfurn

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2015
    southern end of Maryland
    Are you installing a new barrel or just assembling a rifle on a barreled receiver?
    If you are assembling a rifle on a barreled reciever no book is needed.
    I suppose you are aware its tools for reaming and the receiver wrench, barrel vice, levels, headspace gauges are going to cost you hundreds of $$$
    If you are wanting to build a rifle to save $$$ it wont happen .
    If you need any prts for your build I have parts I am selling, many are unissued. If you have any questions on anything PM me and I will help if I can