• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • FFJim

Apr 27, 2012
    Dundalk, MD
    Hello All!

Many you have read my other thread where I described reading about the Appleseed events and wanting to attend. Because of this, I did a little research and discovered the highly customizable Ruger 10/22. This led to me purchasing one to construct a "Liberty Training Rifle" to use at a future Appleseed. Many members provide comments and feedback on my situation.

This might not seem like much to many of the experienced board members who I have lived vicariously thru by reading their posts. However, I am a true novice and have never worked on any sort of firearm. I wanted to take a few minutes and post the results of my first effort. Thanks and I appreciate any feedback or suggestions.

A quick list of my modifications:

• Ruger 10/22
    • Added Sling Swivels and 1 1/2" "GI Sling"
    • Added Tech Sights (Trying iron sights!)
    • Added Extended Magazine Release
    • Modified Bolt Release

Happy and Safe Shooting!

The Stock Ruger 10/22 out of the box

LTR1.jpg

The Liberty Training Rifle

LTR2.jpg

Close up of the Tech Sight

LTR3.jpg

Threeband

The M1 Does My Talking
    Dec 30, 2006
    Carroll County
    Looks good! Almost identical to mine.

You'll want to switch the sling around, back to front, though.

Here's a good video on the web sling:

When you reverse the sling, you can leave the adjusting clasp/ clamp-thing the way you have it, if you want. That's the Army way. But for target work, you'll want to turn it so the smooth side is in, toward the rifle. That way, the smooth side will be against your hand. Set up the Army Way, the sharp side can dig into your hand.

Here's a photo showing how I set up the slings on my Garands: Notice I turned the smooth side in on the clasps.

Attachments

• Service Grade, April 2012 008.jpg