• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mikec

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2007
    Off I-83
    No, not for me, I am a MD resident and I know Federal law prohibits that.

A business associate, who is a VA resident, wants to buy a handgun. I can offer him technical advice and let him shoot one of my handguns but I do not know what the rules are for buying in VA? 4473, money and valid drivers license? I believe he lives near Alexandria or Fairfax. Any local laws to be aware of? Any transport laws?

backnblack

Ultimate Member
    Nov 6, 2009
    1. Visit a licensed and registered firearms dealer in the state of Virginia if you are over the age of 18.

2. Determine the firearm you want to purchase. If you want to purchase more than one firearm in one month, you must apply for a Multiple Handgun Purchase Certificate with the Virginia State Police first. ** the multiple purchase law has been repealed, as of Feb 29, 2012.

3. Discuss your firearm selection with the dealer and provide 2 proofs of identity.
    The main proof of identity must be a unexpired vehicle operator's license with photo or any other identification that has been provided by the government.
    The ancillary means of identification must match the identity of the person that appears on the photo ID. An example of an acceptable ancillary form of ID is a current passport, a utility bill, or a current voter registration card.

4. Agree to a background check by signing the necessary consent form.

5. Pay a small processing fee if you are a Virginia resident. The fee is slightly higher for out-of-state residents.