• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Turbo2Point4

Feb 19, 2012
    i'm fairly new to guns and the cleaning as far as whats needed and how often. i have cleaned the guns after shooting everytime with remoil, i was told i could just use the remoil and didn't need to use a solvent, because remoil was a cleaner and lubricant. so basically my question is should i use a solvent every time, every other time, not at all if i clean them after each use with remoil, and should i switch to a cleaner, then use a lubricant after, or just continue to use the remoil? thanks

Oct 27, 2008
    Dundalk, Hon!
    What kind of guns and ammo are we talking about here? That may have a bearing on the answers.

My thinking: As a general rule, if the oil won't remove the fouling, break out the solvent.

rouchna

Defund the ATF
    MDS Supporter
    Nov 25, 2009
    Virginia
    This is a question to which you will get many answers. Take this as an opinion and not a fact.

Breakfree CLP to clean
    Eezox as a Rust preventative.
    Slip 2000 for lube.

I have tried many different products and found that these work best for me.
    I'm sure others will be along shortly to chime in.

Good luck. A well maintained (quality)firearm will outlast you.

zmayhem

Feb 2, 2012
    I clean mine after shooting every time with M-Pro 7 and use a VERY SMALL amount of Wilson Combat Grease on the rails and 1 or two other spots where metal touches metal. That's on my Glock though, which are very forgiving and don't need much lube. Honestly every gun is different, some are designed to operate wet (with more lube) and some dry (barely any lube). There was a really good thread on here that a well respected gunsmith wrote on what he uses...