• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rainman73guns

Dec 18, 2008
    Good day, I think I have found my dealer. His prices are good and very helpful.
    Only one concern though, I am a legal alien who came here on a H1b workers visa and now for the past 2year filed for a change of status. No green card yet due to the backlog and I have a work card now. I have been a resident of Maryland since 2006. The thing I am concern about is the dealers re-stocking fee if I get denied. Its 15%.
    Isn't it I am suppose to wait for the 7 days for the approval before I get the gun? So the gun is not in my possession.
    I sure hope he waives the restocking fee because I am willing to go through the approval process.

boatbod

Ultimate Member
    Nov 30, 2007
    Talbot Co
    Normally non-immigrant aliens (i.e. H1B) are not eligible to buy firearms unless they also possess a valid hunting permit. However, in your case you have already applied for AOS (adjustment of status) so you are an "intending immigrant" with an A number that you can put on the 4473 and MD forms. In my book that puts you in a fuzzy category that may permit you to be approved at the federal level at least. Once you get your LPR, you are definitely free to buy whatever you want.

novus collectus

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 1, 2005
    Bowie
    The seven day wait is only for MD regulated guns. If it is a non-regulated firearm, then the check is supposed to be instant and you can walk out the door with the rifle then if you pass the check.

SigMatt

Ultimate Member
    Mar 17, 2007
    Shores of the Bay, MD
    Don't bother going ahead with the purchase. You will be denied.