• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mooseman

R.I.P.- Hooligan #4
    Jan 3, 2012
    Western Maryland
    I am not sure if this is the right forum for this question or not. If not, Mods please move it to the appropriate forum. I have received conflicting answers by otherwise knowledgeable people. Is it legal for me to purchase an M1 Carbine? I am a Maryland resident and also have my C&R license. I have been told that they are legal, just not the 15 or 30 round magazines. I have been told that they are illegal. I am looking for a WWII vintage rifle, not a modern reproduction. If you know the answer to my question, great. If not, could you point me in the right direction to receive the correct answer. I do not want to run afoul of the law accidentally. Thanks for your help.

JHE1956

Apr 16, 2013
    Annapolis
    Short answer. M1 Carbine is not on the list of banned guns. It is not a "Copy" of a banned gun. If it is a fixed stock GI carbine, it is not a "copycat" gun unless you can figure out way mount a flash suppressor and a grenade launcher at the same time.

15 and 30 round magazines are a different story.

mac1_131

MSI Executive Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 31, 2009
    Only version that is a problem would be an M1A1 paratrooper carbine (folding stock) that bubba put a flash hider on.

That would trip the two feature copycat test.

All others are OK, but occasionally get confused with regulated now-banned guns.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2

rtruhn

Sep 12, 2013
    Gwynn Oak
    I haven't found one yet. I am just checking on the legality so my search is not in vain.