• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Lennyjoe

Sep 22, 2007
    Hagerstown
    Hello everyone. Newbie here and am possibly moving from Arizona to Hagerstown, MD. I have a potential job offer coming up and would like to get some info on the area.

A bit about me. Retired Air Force maintenance guy. Lived in AZ for the last 7 years and have been a CCW permit holder since 2001. Active in legislation benificial to the firearm community and plan on staying that way.

From what I've read from Spot77 and a few others on Thehighroad.org (my usual hang out) is that Maryland isn't a handgun friendly place. Sorry to hear that cause like I said, I've been carrying for the last 6 years now.

So basically I'd like to know what to expect in that area as far as gun laws, housing, crime, places to live, cost of living ect.

Thanks for the help and I'm looking forward to keeping up the fight for our rights.

Norton

NRA Endowment Member, Rifleman
    Staff member
    Admin
    May 22, 2005
    If you're job is going to be in Hagerstown, live in either PA or WV if you want to keep your permits to carry. MD is a pretty skinny state out there and H'town is an easy commute from either state.

On the other hand, we'd love to have another active gunny helping us straighten this place out.

novus collectus

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 1, 2005
    Bowie
    If you have any of these guns, leave them in AZ.
    An assault pistol is defined as any of the following specified firearms or their copies regardless of which company produced and manufactured the firearm:
    AA Arms AP-9 semi-automatics
    Bushmaster semi-automatic pistol;
    Claridge HI-TEC, semi-automatic pistol;
    D Max Industries semi-automatic pistol;
    Encom MK-IV, MP-9, MP-45 semi-automatic pistols;