• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dev

Ultimate Member
    Apr 4, 2011
    I am not new to firing guns however I am new to owning them and I just want to thank the people on this part of the forum as well as the rest of the board that have posted their experience and recommendations to make my recent gun purchase uneventful.

Apart from my Shotgun which I purchased over a year ago at a gun show in Maryland I was on the look out for the new Umarex MP-5 .22 long riffle that came out. Based on the recommendations here I was able to purchase it online from Atlantic firearms who were very helpful and shipped out my riffle the very next day to Engage Armament for an FFL transfer.

The guys at Engage Armament were straight forward, professional and friendly and most of all they read up on the gun laws and know that these .22 riffles are not regulated which saved me so much hassle. I have many other hobbies like photography, RC planes and automobiles so I know purchase experience and enthusiasm can vary from one place to the next.

Now for the bad. Prior to this I went to Atlantic guns in Rockville and had a weird experience however I knew exactly what I was going to expect because of this board. All I can say is that they were least bothered when I called them up to make a simple inquiry on price and when I went there the environment was not friendly. They said they would get back to me and I never heard from them since. I do not know why they unnecessary complicate the simple art of straight forward conversation and most of all lose a paying customers business.

Another experience I had which left an impression was Gilbert Gun range in Rockville. I did not know anything about them until I did a search on the board after coming home and my experience is this;