• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • c33m0n3y

Mar 14, 2010
    Howard County
    About 2 years ago I saw that J&G in AZ was selling Saigas of all flavors for about $300 a pop. I decided to spring for a 7.62X39, with the eye on doing the conversion to an AK format. After the transfer from my local FFL (8 days, ah, memories), I started learning in earnest about what it would take. The instructions started to use terms like "drilling", "tapping", "threading", and all kinds of crazy language that I did not associate with any of my zen and my art of firearm maintenance. I relegated the Saiga to the back of the safe, and never shot it. I even in a moment of weakness considered selling it. Mark from 2A sales talked me out of it, saying I wouldn't get much more than what I paid for it without it being converted.

Fast forward to a week ago. Having become more comfortable with the idea of completely wrecking a firearm and not giving a damn about it, and being quite bored, I ordered a conversion kit from Carolina Shooters' Supply. BTW, excellent service and super fast shipping. I ordered the folding stock and grip kit, the bullet guide kit, and a slant muzzle break. While waiting for my stuff to arrive, I read a bit more about the process, and found that some lucky duckies had found that their muzzles were factory-threaded, and that the ugly shroud was just covering that feature. I started looking at mine, and indeed it looked like it was threaded! After 2 days of spinning around a copper pipe cutter to cut the steel shroud (don't ask), I popped off the shroud and yes! it was fully threaded.