• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • midcountyg

Ultimate Member
    Mar 7, 2009
    Preston, MD
    Well I finally got to shoot my new 308 this past weekend to break in the barrel. Just screwing around with some Magtech ammo it shot ok, but not what I wanted or expected. Then I tried the Federal Premium with the Sierra 168 Match King, and boy did that make a difference. Five shot group of .4" at 100yds,and that was me shaking a bit. I'm shooting a SPS Tactical, and people say that gun loves that load. Anyone have a similar performing handload with a 168gr bullet? I plan to shoot this rifle alot, but those Federals are a bit pricey, so I definitely will be loading something for it. This is my first time playing with the 308 in a some what percision platform, so I'm not sure what powders seem to be the most accurate in this case. Accuracy is my top concern, as I plan to shoot this rifle in excess of 500yds.

Topher

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 8, 2008
    Fredneck
    I have had good luck with Varget powder and .308.
    I shoot 150 grain rounds so you may want to work up a load for yourself.

Good luck!

E.Shell

Ultimate Member
    Feb 5, 2007
    Mid-Merlind
    Varget is the goto for the .308 and mid-to-heavy weight bullets, and you should be able to find a good load with anything from 150 to 190 grains.

FWIW, the FGMM .308 loads both use Sierra MatchKings and to emulate the factory load, RE-15 can be used with the 168 SMK.

The Hornady 168 A-Max is a good 168 that carries it's velocity well to long range and also performs well on game. I think it would be hard to go wrong with a box of Hornady 168 A-Maxes, a pound of Varget and a box of CCI-200s.

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland