• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BMassBMore

Apr 22, 2013
    Baltimore
    I was never really trained on "how" to go target shooting. I went with my dad twice as a young adult, but since then I've pretty much been on my own, and more or less self taught.

For a while, I would just put up a target, blast away at it until it seemed like there were plenty of holes, then retrieve it and put up another target. Not much rhyme or reason to it. Earlier this year, I decided to try to be a little more methodical, and this is what I came up with.

The attached pic is of the target routine I've started to follow with my CX4. I use 2x 20 rd magazines in my CX4, firing 5 shots in pretty quick succession. I try to go as fast as I can while still trying to aim.

I first put 2 rounds in the center target, then 1 in the bottom right, then 1 in the bottom left, then 1 back in the center. After the 5 round "set", I lower the rifle, take a few breaths, then repeat 3 more times.

Then I switch mags as quickly as I can.

Then I do the same routine with the second mag but this time 2 in the center, 1 in the top left, 1 in the top right, and 1 in the center.

I end up with 24 in the center, and 4 in each corner.

My bottom right target looks to have only 3 holes, I don't know if I completely missed one, or if I doubled up 2 rounds in the same hole. It's possible I missed just off the paper. The center target is hard to count, as a lot of rounds are chained together, but I'm pretty sure all 24 are there. I think I would have noticed if I missed the center by so much it wasn't even on the paper. The 1 truly horrible shot high in the 6 ring was my second shot.