• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • efeng9622

Oct 10, 2017
    Gaithersburg, MD
    She want to directly sell two handguns to a Maryland or Virginia dealer , not private sell, also she don't want to apply a HQL to switch the title to own these guns, the title are still under her husband name. I remember I sold two handguns on Virginia gun shows since I moved to Maryland, but I only was asked to provide the DL and no one ask about if I am the owner or not, but I never sold other person's gun, so I have no experience to answer the above question.
    Thanks.

Growler215

Ultimate Member
    Dec 30, 2020
    SOMD
    10 second Google search:

"Correct, inherited firearms are exempt from the HQL requirement. All she has to do is go to the barracks and fill out the paperwork. There is no fee for inheritance transfers."

Has this changed?

Tapper

MDS Supporter
    Feb 16, 2024
    Pasadena
    If she’s the executor/PR for the estate, I wouldn’t think she’d have any issue selling to a licensed dealer. Also, I wouldn’t think she’d have to transfer to her name to then sell.

(Unsure of the previous history as I’m new here)

BurkeM

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 8, 2014
    Baltimore
    She want to directly sell two handguns to a Maryland or Virginia dealer , not private sell, also she don't want to apply a HQL to switch the title to own these guns, the title are still under her husband name.
    Handguns are not 'titled,' she can sell directly to any FFL without any issues.

No HQL is needed to SELL.

hillbilly grandpa

Jan 26, 2013
    Arnold
    I had a similar question brought to me just last week. A call to Pikesville produced the following directives.
    1. The widow needs to effect a transfer by inheritance into her name. No HQL required.