• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ml4wheeling

Mar 12, 2012
    Frederick
    I am new to the AR and I am wondering about building an AR chambered in .308. I have a .223 lower on order and I am thinking about getting another lower in .308 for hunting. I was wondering if after Oct. 1st if a lower in .308 falls under the restriction. I was told it was not and I could get one after Oct. 1st.

Thanks

xref

May 9, 2013
    I think you should be good to go after October 1st. It specifically says AR-15. .308 is an AR-10. I've been told caliber does matter.

sailskidrive

Legalize the Constitution
    Oct 16, 2011
    Route 27
    You're better off buying a pre built LR308 style gun versus building one due to the dimensional issues with parts.

tall.guy88

Ultimate Member
    Feb 9, 2013
    West Virginia
    I am new to the AR and I am wondering about building an AR chambered in .308. I have a .223 lower on order and I am thinking about getting another lower in .308 for hunting. I was wondering if after Oct. 1st if a lower in .308 falls under the restriction. I was told it was not and I could get one after Oct. 1st.

Thanks

I was at Hafers gun store and I listened into a conversation between a customer and one of the employees. They said the 308 is not on the ban list. So you can purchase it after Oct 1. You might ask the Hafer's guys on the Hafer's thread under "Industry Partners" forum. They are pretty responsive. Great gun store too in Downsville, Md.

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland
    You're better off buying a pre built LR308 style gun versus building one due to the dimensional issues with parts.

specifically lower and upper units..

but rest of the parts.. are interchangeable i believe. (ie.. triggers, stock etc.)

TxAggie

Ultimate Member
    Feb 25, 2012