• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Happy Camper

MDS Supporter
    Feb 3, 2024
    Baltimore County
    Hello,

I've got a few questions since I'm pretty new to AR-15s. When I say new, I've only ever held a Bullpup Springfield Hellion in Guntry new-to-ARs kind of new. :lol2:Wondering what everyone thinks about pre-built AR-15s? Also, trying to decide between an AR-15 and a PCC for home defense. Not really into building one from scratch, so I'm eyeing a decent pre-built that I can tweak later if needed. Was checking out the Black Rain Ordnance Spec 15, but then I remembered a post I saw here mentioning checking the Reviewed Firearms List, and turns out it's banned in Maryland. :sad20:

Found an IWI Zion Z15 that's good to go in Maryland, which seems solid. On the flip side, I'm also considering a PCC for home defense. Saw a couple I liked, chambered in 9x19, which fits well with my pistols, plus the ammo's not too pricey. So, torn between the PCC with cheaper ammo and the AR's stopping power and versatility, despite the higher per-shot cost. Think I'm leaning one way, but curious to hear from more experienced AR users. Appreciate any insights. Thanks a lot.

DaemonAssassin

Why should we Free BSD?
    Jun 14, 2012
    Political refugee in WV
    Hello,

I've got a few questions since I'm pretty new to AR-15s. When I say new, I've only ever held a Bullpup Springfield Hellion in Guntry new-to-ARs kind of new. 2:Wondering what everyone thinks about pre-built AR-15s? Also, trying to decide between an AR-15 and a PCC for home defense. Not really into building one from scratch, so I'm eyeing a decent pre-built that I can tweak later if needed. Was checking out the Black Rain Ordnance Spec 15, but then I remembered a post I saw here mentioning checking the Reviewed Firearms List, and turns out it's banned in Maryland. :sad20: