• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CCPatriot

Jan 20, 2013
    Carroll County
    Hello Fellow Shooters,
    I have been shooting and collecting for years. I have just made my first AR purchase. RRA LAR15. I have some knowledge about revolvers, pistols, bolt action and semi-auto rifles but I'm very new to the AR. I would like to build a couple more for myself before the dreaded Oct 1st catastrophe. My question is what type of lower am I looking for? What brands? My Rock River seems nice but I was looking for something a little nicer (if that makes sense). Should I get a stripped or complete lower? What are the advantages of each? What type of material... i see different materials used for different brands? What are the advantages of each? I saw a couple of Spikes Tac that seemed to have good reviews. Any info would be helpful

lennyk

Jan 11, 2013
    Woodbine
    Hello. I prefer stripped lowers since I am picky on the fire control group (trigger and safety). The Geisele triggers are amazing, along with Timney. The AR is a remarkable platform in that it is standardized. There are basically 2 types of lowers, forged and billet. Forged lowers universally look identical short of the roll marks that denote the manufacture. The billet ones are a bit fancier with the milling. Preferred material is 7075 over 6061 (it is stronger), but realistically probably makes no difference. 6061 is easier to machine. I have not seen significant differences among forged lowers only to the extent of the anodizing and the finish. They are all "mil-spec." Billet lowers have a unique look. My most favorite billets are Seekins and CMT tactical, along with Mark at Precision Firearms (he is local). Hope this helps.

MonkeyPunch

Feb 23, 2013
    Montgomery County